Life Lessons / Unapologetically Us Blog

How Many Kids you Have vs. What People Think

6fd78f705417367a7eaacc4142b522d4

I saw this posted on one of my social media groups and just wanted to share. I have 3 children and I can honestly say that this graphic has some truths to it based on my own personal experience. It seems that people are never satisfied, no matter what you do! See, I come from a large family where it was not unheard of for a couple to have 5+ children. Now, it seems to me that society thinks that having 2-3 children is the maximum “norm”….anything above or below that usually generates some kind of remark. I’ve even had someone ask me if I wanted to “even” the number of children I have out and shoot for baby #4. I promptly rebuked them and sent them on their merry way.

I admit, I did hold off on telling people about my 3rd pregnancy, mainly because I didn’t want to deal with the stress and rude comments like, “Oh, you’re pregnant again??”, “Is this the last one?”, etc. It’s annoying and hurtful. I was feeling blessed and was determined not to let people get me down.

Pregnancy and parenthood are topics that everyone seems to have strong opinions on and are not afraid to share them. But a word of advice is to be sensitive to others and try not to insert your views unless asked. There are couples struggling with infertility and to have people constantly asking when they are going to reproduce can seriously upset and put unnecessary stress on the couple. And it makes you look like an ass. *shrugs*

So, let’s all strive to be a little more sensitive and less judgmental.

Leave a comment